X
Conversation Detail Module
Collapse
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Stock suspension upgrade help

Hi guys, I've had my colt for almost 4 years ( 65000k) . As much as I love it I'm really over the crashy ride. My rcolt is totally stock, I just wanna make it more easy to drive as an every day car , any suggestions on the suspension? Gear ratios ? Clutch?

I'm not looking for more performance just smoother ride . . . . . . But if I can drop the ride hight and creat a smoother ride then that's a bonus

As you can prolly tell I'm a bit of a noob go easy on me

BC coilovers offer a nice ride with more comfort than stock suspension and adjustability when you want track.

A proper tune with a grimspeed will give you much smoother power delivery across the revs

Comment

Thanks bobster , wow BC coil overs offer a nicer ride then stock suspension! (BC = buddy club?)

I thought coil overs were more sports orientated, I'm surprised that they would be more smoother. Why are the stock suspension so darn hard!?

Im in W.A. Do they do "grim speed" tunes here?

Thanks again

Comment

If you're in WA you could check out RPW in Osbourne Park, they do dyno tunes as well. The grimspeed bobster was referring to is simply a 3-port solenoid which replaces your factory solenoid. When tuning the ecu you can choose to either retain the stock solenoid or upgrade to the grimspeed item. Best that you upgrade your exhaust as well to get the most out of the ecu tune.

Suspension mods would depend on your budget as well, cheaper option is simply replace to lowered springs (i.e. pedders, kings) or if you want coilovers there are a few brand options available. A few guys on here are running BC coilovers. I've used Bilstein coilvers myself and reckon they're pretty comfort oreinted....not crashy at all. BC is not buddy club by the way.

There's no need to replace your clutch yet unless it's worn out. It's also a big job and can easily cost upwards of $800 for part and labour.